Good is Good Enough

Do you ever feel like you’re doing a lot and yet, never doing enough?

It’s the constant pursuit of perfection, to the detriment of your self-esteem and mental well-being.

Lately, I’ve been feeling this (self-inflicted) pressure in the areas of nutrition and fitness. I can be completely exhausted but still running three times a week, taking the stairs at work, walking to/from the bus stop every day and stretching, and yet still feel like I should be doing more. It’s that dreaded word: should. I recently heard the phrase, “Stop should-ing all over yourself” and I had to laugh because it just hit so close to home! I’m constantly should-ing all over myself. You should be using my gym membership more. You should be meal prepping every Sunday. You should be doing yoga more consistently. You should be meditating daily.

Sure, those are all great endeavours. And maybe one day I’ll have them all down to a science. But when the guilt of not doing those things is creating a dark cloud over your head, maybe it’s time to consider letting them go. At least for now. And instead of focusing on all the things you should be doing, focus on all of the great things you’re already doing. Give yourself props for those small, seemingly insignificant changes and habits that you’ve made that are bringing you that much closer to your goals every day. Quit comparing yourself to those around you. Meet yourself where you’re at in this moment, and give yourself a break.

Life has it’s ups and downs, it’s peaks and valleys, it’s highs and lows. Sometimes you feel like you’ve got everything figured out and the next you’re just trying to get through the day in one piece. And that is totally normal. No one is perfect. No one has their shit figured out 100% of the time. And that’s cool, because that’s life.

For now, I’m going to keep up those small, incremental habits I’ve formed (like taking the stairs at work, running with a friend, meal prepping one dish a week) and give myself a pass on some of those other things that have been looming. I’m going to (try my best to) be gentle and kind with myself, as I get used to this new chapter of my life.

I hope you’ll be kind to yourself, too.

Leave a comment